Events Archive

What can we learn from the archeology of medieval Egypt that we can’t learn from the documents?

Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm
Location: Zoom webinar
Speaker(s):

Reading session on Arabic-script documents (in parallel text and translation)

Wed, Dec 9, 2020, 10:00 am to 12:00 pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

What can we learn from Arabic-script documents about economic exchange in medieval Egypt (800–1150)?

Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 9:00 am to 11:00 am
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

Sirat 'Antar and formation of Arab tribal identity in Mamluk Egypt

Mon, Nov 23, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

Public Lecture with Ambassador Samantha Power

Thu, Nov 19, 2020, 5:00 pm to 6:00 pm
Location: Zoom webinar
Speaker(s):

Humor and Social Mobilization in the Maghrib: The Case of Algeria

Tue, Nov 17, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Location: Zoom webinar
Speaker(s):

The Islamic Age of Communication

Mon, Nov 16, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

Of Two Worlds: Ottoman Muslims Between Empire and Nation (1878-1908)

Mon, Nov 9, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

Mapping Medicine with the Platonic Cosmos in the Medieval Islamicate World

Mon, Nov 2, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom meeting
Speaker(s):

Challenges and Opportunities in the Middle East: A UAE Perspective

Tue, Oct 27, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Location: Zoom webinar
Speaker(s):

The Literary Qurʾan

Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Speaker(s):

Print and the Arabo-Islamic Renaissance

Mon, Oct 19, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

Arbiters of Divorce: Islamic Marriage Law and Indian Secularism

Mon, Oct 5, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom webinar
Speaker(s):

Visions of Deliverance. Moriscos and the Politics of Prophecy in the Early Modern Mediterranean

Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

Egypt's Successful Transition to Failed Capitalism

Mon, Sep 21, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

Stringing the Necklace: Arabic Poetry as Arab History

Mon, Sep 14, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

The Challenges of Conflict Resolution in the Middle East

Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Location: Zoom webinar
Speaker(s):

The Englishing of al-Hariri’s Maqamat

Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

VIRTUAL TALK Lebanon: A Tale of Three Explosions

Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Speaker(s):

The Cow and the Caliphate: Debating Hindu-Muslim Friendship in Colonial India

Mon, Aug 31, 2020, 12:00 pm to 1:20 pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s):

Pages