Perlman Defends PhD Dissertation
Aug. 31, 2022

On Monday, August 29, Yaara Perlman successfully defended her doctoral dissertation, “Family Relations and Politics in Early Islam.”

Palombo *2020 to Teach History of Early Islam at Chicago
Aug. 12, 2022

Cecilia Palombo, who earned her Ph.D. in Near Eastern Studies in 2020, has been hired to teach the History of Early Islam until 1250 in Chicago’s Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations. Palombo, whose advisor was Michael Cook, wrote her dissertation on “The Christian Clergy’s Islamic Local Government in Late Marwanid and Abbasid…

New Publication by Patricia Blessing
Aug. 5, 2022

Patricia Blessing's new book, Architecture and Material Politics in the Fifteenth-century Ottoman Empire, has been published by Cambridge University Press as an e-book.

New Publication by Hossein Modarressi
Aug. 3, 2022

Bayard Dodge Professor of Near Eastern Studies Hossein Modarressi’s latest book, Text and Interpretation: Imam Jaʿfar al-Ṣādiq and His Legacy in Islamic Law, has been published by Harvard University Press.

Ketsemanian Defends Ph.D. Dissertation
July 12, 2022

Varak Ketsemanian successfully defended his doctoral dissertation.

Rashidbeigi Awarded 2022 Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship
July 6, 2022

Seventh-year Ph.D. student Samin Rashidbeigi has been awarded a 2022 Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship.

NES Alumnus Shamir Wins 2022 Israel Prize
June 22, 2022

Shimon Shamir, (Ph.D. 1961), professor emeritus of Middle East history at Tel Aviv University, has been awarded the Israel Prize in the field of Middle Eastern Studies for 2022.

NES Graduate Students, Alumna Awarded Humanities Council 2022 Flash Grants
June 8, 2022

Three NES graduate students and one NES alumna were awarded 2022 Flash Grants by the Humanities Council.

Near Eastern Studies Celebrates Class Day 2022
May 24, 2022

Near Eastern Studies held its first in-person Class Day since 2019 on May 23, 2022. During the celebration, the Department and Program announced departmental honors and presented this year’s prize winners.

Kahn ’22 Elected to Phi Beta Kappa
May 20, 2022

NES senior concentrator Ethan Kahn has been elected to Phi Beta Kappa. Kahn previously was a recipient of the 2018-2019 Shapiro Prize for Academic Excellence and named a 2022 Scholars in the Nation’s Service Initiative graduate scholar. The Phi Beta Kappa Society, founded in 1776 and the oldest of all national honorary scholastic societies…