News - 2015

Tuesday, Nov 3, 2015

The latest issue of Die Welt des Islams (55:2) has published an article by NES graduate student Alexander E. Balistreri.

Wednesday, Oct 7, 2015

Marina Rustow, Khedouri A.

Tuesday, Oct 6, 2015

Shahab Ahmed, Lecturer on Law and Research Fellow in Islamic Legal Studies at Harvard Law School, passed away on September 17, 2015. Ahmed earned his Ph.D.

Friday, Sep 25, 2015

The Near Eastern Studies Department now has its own Facebook page. Check us out at https://www.facebook.com/NESPrincetonUniversity110


Tuesday, Aug 25, 2015

A generous grant from the Virginia and Richard Stewart Memorial Fund, through Princeton University’s Council of the Humanities, has made it possible for the Princeton University Library to expand online digital access to its extensive holdings of Islamic manuscripts.

Friday, Aug 7, 2015

The Routledge Handbook of the History of the Middle East Mandates, edited by Cyrus Schayegh and former NES postdoc Andrew Arsan, has been published by Routledge. 

Friday, Jul 24, 2015

Patricia Crone, Andrew W. Mellon Professor Emerita in the School of Historical Research at the Institute for Advanced Study and a long-time contributor to scholarly life in Near Eastern Studies, most recently as Lecturer with the Rank of Full Professor, passed away on July 11 following a long fight against cancer.

Monday, Jun 1, 2015

Near Eastern Studies held its 2015 Class Day Reception on June 1 in 1915 Hall. At the reception, the Department and Program presented this year’s prize winners and announced departmental honors.

Monday, Apr 27, 2015

Professor Bernard Haykel, a historian of the Arabian Peninsula and a scholar of I

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2015

Associate Professor of History and Near Eastern Studies Max Weiss has been selected as one of 32 Andrew Carnegie F

Pages

News Archive