Core Faculty

Michael Cook

Michael Cook
  • Class of 1943 University Professor of Near Eastern Studies
  • Director of Graduate Studies
Phone: 609-258-5360
Email: mcook@princeton.edu
Office: 101A Jones Hall

Behrooz Ghamari-Tabrizi

Behrooz Ghamari-Tabrizi
  • Professor of Near Eastern Studies

Jonathan Gribetz

  • Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Studies and the Program in Judaic Studies
Phone: 609-258-7298
Email: gribetz@princeton.edu
Office: 116 Jones Hall

M. Şükrü Hanioğlu

M. Sukru Hanioglu
  • Professor of Near Eastern Studies
  • Garrett Professor in Foreign Affairs
Phone: 609-258-5361
Email: hanioglu@princeton.edu
Office: 103 Jones Hall

Lara Harb

Lara Harb
  • Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Studies
Phone: 609-258-6722
Email: lharb@princeton.edu
Office: 114B Jones Hall

Bernard Haykel

Bernard Haykel
  • Professor of Near Eastern Studies
  • Director, Institute for Transregional Study of the Contemporary Middle East
  • Director, Program in Near Eastern Studies
Phone: 609-258-2176
Email: haykel@princeton.edu
Office: 107 Jones Hall

Eve Krakowski

Eve
  • Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Studies and the Program in Judaic Studies;
  • Christian Gauss Fund University Preceptor
  • NES Undergraduate Representative
Phone: 609-258-7252
Email: eve.krakowski@princeton.edu
Office: 216 Frist Campus Center

Satyel Larson

  • Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Studies
Phone: 609-258-3609
Email: satyellarson@princeton.edu
Office: 115 Jones Hall

Hossein Modarressi

Modarressi
  • Bayard Dodge Professor of Near Eastern Studies
Phone: 609-258-4268
Email: hm@Princeton.edu
Office: 114A Jones Hall

M'hamed Oualdi

Oualdi
  • Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Studies and History
Phone: 609-258-8521
Email: moualdi@princeton.edu
Office: 108 Jones Hall

Michael A. Reynolds

  • Associate Professor of Near Eastern Studies
Phone: 609-258-0256
Email: mar123@princeton.edu
Office: 105 Jones Hall

Marina Rustow

Rustow
  • Khedouri A. Zilkha Professor of Jewish Civilization in the Near East
  • Professor of Near Eastern Studies and History
Phone: 609-258-8240
Email: mrustow@princeton.edu
Office: 106 Jones Hall

Daniel Sheffield

Daniel Sheffield
  • Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Studies
Phone: 609-258-1448
Email: djs5@princeton.edu
Office: 301 Jones Hall

Max Weiss

Max Weiss
  • Associate Professor of History and Near Eastern Studies
Phone: 609-258-0725
Email: maxweiss@princeton.edu
Office: 301 Dickinson Hall

Muhammad Qasim Zaman

Zaman
  • Robert H. Niehaus '77 Professor of Near Eastern Studies and Religion
  • Chair, Department of Near Eastern Studies
Phone: 609-258-2011
Email: mzaman@princeton.edu
Office: 104 Jones Hall